View navigation



In Friarage Early Years Foundation Stage we aim to ensure all children gain the firm foundations needed in which to thrive as they embark on their learning journey in school.

We follow the Statutory Framework from the Department for Education with the Early Years Foundation Stage framework and provide learning opportunities across the 7 Areas of Learning:

  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Each of these areas is implemented through planned and purposeful play, a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activities.

Children gather for daily inputs of taught learning with their class teacher. These sessions are focused on communication, language, literacy, mathematics and phonics.

Through these inputs, children learn key taught skills, which they then apply in continuous provision and play. This enables our children to become able and independent learners and access the curriculum effectively.

The curriculum is creative and play-based and challenges each child to achieve their individual potential.

Scalby Learning Trust Schools

About Scalby Learning Trust

The Scalby Learning Trust in Scarborough aims to improve education in the locality through establishing coherent and collaborative practice across schools and other educational institutions in the area.

Abstract vector created by freepik -